Welcome to Covington, KY
The beginnings of Covington can be found at the junction of Second and Garrard Streets, in a small park commemorating the legendary George Rogers Clark. Now a part of the Cincinnati Bicentennial River Walk, this tract of land was once the site of a 150-acre farm owned by Thomas Kennedy, the founder of Covington. On this site he built a modest log home in 1791 and proceeded to run a ferry across the Ohio River from Northern Kentucky to Losantiville (now Cincinnati). By 1814, the town was officially put on the map, bearing the name of General Leonard Covington, a famous hero from the War of 1812.
With a constant influx of industry and inhabitants, Covington was a full-fledged city by the mid-1830’s. “The Point” at the confluence of the Licking and Ohio Rivers, was both the commercial and residential focus of the city of several years, home to various shipping facilities and industry along the rivers, taking full advantage of Covington’s superior river location. Advances in transportation changes the character of the city, as work was completed on both the Kentucky Central Railroad and Cincinnati-Covington Bridge (John Roebling Suspension Bridge) by the late 1860’s. Financial and commercial interest shifted to locate near the new train terminals, forming a more advantageous hub in the area now called Downtown.
Covington’s Recreational amenities are quite impressive and numerous and encourage outdoor activity and healthy living. Residents and visitors have plenty of options to choose from, ranging from the 700+ acre Devou Park, which boasts a golf course, bandshell, and trails, to a wonderful host of small neighborhood parks scattered throughout the city, with picnic shelters, basketball courts, and ball fields. Below is a map of Covington parks. Click on the park to view additional information including available amenities.